New Year…New You

PAUSE

I have decided that I am not yet ready to start the new year.  Heck, I still haven’t recovered from last year.  Jet lag and heavy drinking in the same week took a tole on my body.  What better way to start the new year than a little relaxation and re-cooperation?

I will have this weekend all to myself.  No friends, no roommates, no parties, no restaurants, no unpacking.  Just me in my boyfriend’s 1 bedroom Chelsea waterfront apartment…cable, big screen, and Nintendo Wii all inclusive (don’t forget about the mini-bar aka refrigerator).  Mr. A is working in Norway this weekend, and I thought that it would be an absolutely brilliant idea if I could just “borrow” the flat while he’s away.  My wish was granted and here I am on the cozy bed with fluffy pillows and all the modern amenities a girl could ask for.  I never realized how much I like this place.

Cleaning Therapy

A day into my stay, I’ve decided that I need a new kind of therapy.  I am not talking about a mental cleanse through some sort of meditation.  Oh no, I am talking about the hands on experience of cleaning one’s apartment, or in this case, someone else’s apartment.  This place is absolutely gorgeous, but it does need a bit of tidying up.  Mr. A’s going to be working 7 days a week this winter, so I thought I should be a good girlfriend and help the guy out.

My first target was *dramatic pause* the bathroom.  I was literally on my hands and knees scrubbing every inch of that room.  I may lose all my readers after this sentence (HAH – like I have any), but I found the task to be quite enjoyable.  Since we have a cleaner at my own flat, I don’t really have to clean all that often.  It was very rewarding to see the outcome of my hard work.  The bathroom looks immaculate, and it’s all because of me.  I must really love this guy in order to spend my Saturday afternoon scrubbing his toilet.  Don’t worry too much.  I treated myself to a nice soak in the tub while eating some cake his mom baked for me =) .

I spent the rest of the evening doing laundry, grocery shopping, and watching a Sex and the City marathon.  Tomorrow, I will cook my first Norwegian meal.  Hrmm, I like playing housewife.

1 Comment

Filed under Lifestyle

One response to “New Year…New You

  1. I like the Cleaning Therapy. Sometimes we just need to junk out the old before we can begin with the new. Clear the decks, so to say.

    I think I might tackle my own room today; lots of accumulated junk over the past 12 months; interests that have come and gone, no longer needed.

Leave a Reply

